Germany eases travel restrictions for 11 non-EU countries

Germany eases travel restrictions for 11 non-EU countries

The federal cabinet decided yesterday to allow residents of selected non-EU countries to enter Germany again, where the epidemiological situation on both sides allows. The new regulation takes effect on July 2. 

Citizens from non-EU countries can travel to Germany again

Following the recommendation of the Council of the European Union to permit travel from 14 “safe countries”, the federal government will begin easing restrictions on travel into Germany for non-EU countries with low coronavirus infection rates. The list of “safe countries” will be updated every two weeks based on the epidemiological situation. 

While the EU put forward a list of 14 countries, each member state retains the right to a final say over how they ease travel restrictions. Germany’s list, therefore, grants unrestricted entry to those travelling from just eight countries: Australia, Georgia, Canada, Montenegro, New Zealand, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay. 

For three other countries (China, Japan and South Korea) entry restrictions will only be lifted if these countries in turn allow German citizens to enter. The cabinet has opted ot leave out four countries deemed "safe" by the EU: Algeria, Morocco, Rwanda and Serbia. Germany's decision was based on the basis of the current coronavirus situation in these countries.

For the purposes of travel, the UK will be treated as part of the EU until the end of the transition period on December 31. 

Non-EU citizens travelling from risk areas must quarantine

The German government emphasises that travellers from so-called “third countries” can still travel to Germany if they have “an important reason for travel” - for instance if they have an existing right to residence in Germany (attested to by a residence permit), if they are currently working in healthcare, old-age care or goods transport, or wish to join family members currently living in Germany.

Regardless of the reason for entry, all third-country nationals coming from a designated risk area (as defined by the Robert Koch Institute) are required to go into quarantine for 14 days upon arrival in Germany - with the exception of transit passengers - unless they can present a recent, negative coronavirus test. 



Abi Carter

Abi studied History & German at the University of Manchester. She has since worked as a writer, editor and content marketeer, but still has a soft spot for museums, castles...

Read more



Leave a comment